SR-22 Florida Auto Insurance Basic Information

SR-22 is not a type of Florida auto insurance. It is the name of the form used by auto insurance companies to certify compliance for persons required to maintain minimum limits of liability insurance. The SR-22 form is submitted by auto insurance companies to the Florida Bureau of Financial Responsibility for policyholders who are mandated to submit proof of liability insurance.

For most residents the minimum mandatory Florida car insurance, as indicated in the Florida No Fault Law, is $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection and $10,000 of Property Damage Liability. Bodily Injury Liability indicated on an SR-22, in addition to the No Fault Law requirement, is for persons who meet certain criteria. Drivers who fail to provide proof of insurance after an accident, or accumulated too many points on their license, may require an SR22. Drivers with a DUI conviction require Florida FR44 insurance not an SR22.

Minimum Bodily Injury Liability limits to be in compliance with a Florida SR-22 are $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. A combined single limit of liability in the amount of $30,000 would also fulfill the SR-22 requirement. As of October 1, 2007 a driver convicted of operating a vehicle under the influence (DUI) will be required to secure higher limits and submit proof via an FR44 filing not an SR22.

The premium for Bodily Injury Liability insurance is the same from your insurance company regardless of an SR-22 filing requirement. The only additional cost to the insured for the SR-22, in Florida, is a $15.00 filing fee. However, drivers who are required to file an SR-22 generally pay more than other drivers for their insurance premium due to the reason for the SR-22, such as, an at fault car accident or a conviction for driving under the influence.

Once mandated by the Bureau of Financial Responsibility to have on file an SR-22, failure to do so may result in your driver license and or vehicle license plate being suspended. Reinstatement of your driver license and or license plate will only occur after certified proof of the required liability insurance in the form of an SR-22 is filed with the Bureau of Financial Responsibility. Reinstatement fees will apply in addition to the $15.00 filing fee. Forms SR-22 and FR-44 are submitted (filed) by the insurance company. The submissions are transmitted electronically and 15 days is the allowable time for the company to file after a policy begins.

Next Post

Hydrogen Car Kit Saves Money

Hydrogen car kit sales are rising dramatically in the USA and Europe. Well, the sales of hydrogen car kit manuals are on the increase, in any case. One manual publisher reported a 350{ab662c498d58e1b7b34d33fa34ec831686a9fe77d0ca7e950f839577e113f39a} increase in the sales of its HHO manual last month. More people seem to be interested in […]

You May Like